Randomness and Inspiration

Often times I am told that I have a lot to say and should write — really they just mean I talk too much and they don’t wanna hear it! lol WELL here we are, my very own Blog! I got a taste of blogging while operating through the Dance Theatre of Harlem’s blog while I was on tour. I love it! It gives me a chance to record and re-live great memories. I also adore talking about how my day(s) went and things of that nature. I also like to critic different performances that I attend. All in the shaping and molding of a career in writing that I want to go into after my ballerinO days come to end.

So anyway. . . . . . . . . .

Anyone who knows me, or follows my tweets (www.twitter.com/chrismcdaniel08) knows that I am a huge fan of New York City Ballet Principal Dancer Robert Fairchild, and American Ballet Theatre Principal Dancer Marcelo Gomes. Both of them possess a versatility and performance quality that I aspire to. They are both technically capable of dancing ANY ballet in their companies repertoire. They are both also incredible actors. In any ballet that I have seen them dance that they’ve had to tell a story, I left the theater believing it.

Another defining and admirable characteristic of the two of them, is their sense of humility and selflessness. Both of them are so giving and down to earth. I believe that a dancer who can grace a stage should also be approachable and be pleasant with fans. I consider it an honor and privilege to have taken class with and from both of them. It’s so comforting and encouraging to see them standing next to me in class, getting corrections, taking risks, and sometimes even offering a correction.

In the fall of 2008 at Ballet Academy East, Marcelo came and taught a few of my classes. Being a student I was uber intimidated and I didn’t take class well. I allowed my being “Star-Struck” to hinder the work that he wanted me to do. I even had a melt down and cried, lol. Ugh How pathetic?!?!?  BUT that was then, and think things are pretty different in my little brain now.

Usually I can be spotted sitting in the audience at the NYCB at least 3 days a week.  With the lack of a full professional company at the Dance Theatre of Harlem, I find myself seeking  inspiration in many other places (NYCB being a main source of inspiration). I have my selection of dancers that I frequently try to catch in various roles. I see most of Robbie’s shows, because he is the most inspirational for me.

This morning (on my day off) I took his class at the Manhattan Movement and Arts Center!!! It was such an intense class! He is definitely a disciple of Willy Burmann! Who’s class I take quite often at Steps on Broadway. There were some similar combinations, but Robbie made them his own, and it was just what I needed! During the duration of the barre I was able to execute the foot work, but put more focus into my port de bras, and épaulement. I was also able to put more weight into my dancing throughout the center, by using my plié more, which is a correction I get quite often at DTH. I have always appreciated the teachers I had growing up and the ones I have now. I KNOW they had careers and were great dancers. However it’s totally different taking class from a dancer who you can go see on stage the next night. To see the dancer on stage authenticating the very ideas  they are teaching, pushes me reach for another level of professionalism and artistry.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

